Casserole of Spicy Goodness

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

I always try to be a little creative in the kitchen, but I also try to make it enjoyable for husband, besides just myself,when I cook and he does the same for me. But there is something about watching other people enjoy what you have made and since he endures, gluten-free, low iodine and all the in between, sometimes I will make bacon for dinner. I put sausage, bacon and sweet potatoes in Pinterest, Yummly and even Google and all the recipes were for hash, hash sounds gross, so I made my own recipe!

Why bacon, sausage and sweet potatoes? Because that’s what I had and I didn’t want to go to the store!

We are going to call this a Casserole of Spicy Goodness!

What you need:

Sausage (Applegate farms make a gluten-free kind)

Bacon (most bacon is gluten-free, but they can’t promise against cross contamination)

Peppers

Onions

Cheese ( I used pepper jack and marble cheddar)

Sweet Potatoes

All sorts of Hot Sauces

Pepper, Red Pepper Flakes, Garlic

(If you were feeling really crazy, I think you could add another vegetable to the casserole and it would be great)

 Its not pretty yet, but it smells great.

I used 3 pieces of sausage, 4 pieces of bacon, 4 sweet potatoes, half a pepper and a fourth of an onion. Cooked the bacon and the sausage, peeled and microwaved the potatoes for a few minute since they take the longest to cook, and cut it up into smaller pieces. Slice up the peppers, onions, sausage, bacon and potatoes and throw everything in a mixing bowl. Then depending on your taste start dousing them in your different hot sauces, peppers, pepper flakes and garlic and  mix them all together. I love the flavors of sweet and spicy together so I used pineapple Habanero jelly and maple bacon (when you are cutting pieces of the cheese put some of the jelly on a slice and take a bite, its delightful).

These are my personal favorites, but use what ever gets your taste buds going.

Once its covered in the spiciness of your liking spread it out in to a casserole dish, and put it in the oven for about 15 minutes at 400 degrees. After around 15 minutes I would take it out and start adding cheese, as much as you like, it might add some calories, but cheese is delicious so I say do it! Sprinkle some of the crispier bacon on top and back in the oven till the sweet potatoes are soft.

 
I also made Brussels sprouts to go along with the casserole of spicy goodness, and when we ate them, I got a “Crap! these are good” and how often does someone say that about Brussels sprouts!


Clean the sprouts and cut them in half, put them on a lined backing sheet, what we are about to put on them really caramelizes and sticks to the pan. Once they are ready boil olive oil, Siracha and honey for a minute whisking it together, it boils fast. Then pour the mixture over the Brussels sprouts and put them in the oven for about 20 mins half hour at 400.  There you have a deliciously spicy meal all around!I

Leave a Reply

